The official designation for Vermont's southwest corner is Bennington County but in recent years residents and visitors have come to refer to this beautiful region nestled between the Taconic Mountains to the west and Green Mountains to the east, as The Shires of Vermont. The name Shires is rooted in both the area's rich history and the important connection between its north and south shire communities. Learn More >
E-mail for more help planning your trip to The Shires!